President Trump in Portsmouth, UK. 75th Anniversary of D-Day

British Paratroopers sit across from their former selves. Photo taken on D-Day.
Brit Paratroopers
The President, FLOTUS, the Queen and other leaders are already there.
Trump Queen Melania
Today we commemorate the effort of the Allies. D-Day is considered one of the largest military operations in history. It included over 5,000 vessels and ships, nearly 11,000 planes and over 130,000 ground troops. 📷 The landing beaches and tide clock used in preparation for D-Day at Southwick House, Portsmouth.
Live Link from ABC:
https://twitter.com/realDonaldTrump/status/1136245995401072640


Live link from the UK:  Link

By now, most of you have heard about Piers Morgan’s interview with the President. Here is the interview in its entirety: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cZ5K6opeIyw&feature=youtu.be
Schedule for Day 3
9:35am BST / 4:35am EST THE PRESIDENT and THE FIRST LADY depart London, United Kingdom, en route to Southsea Castle Landing Zone, Portsmouth, United Kingdom, London, United Kingdom
10:25am BST / 5:25am EST THE PRESIDENT and THE FIRST LADY arrive at Southsea Castle Landing Zone, Portsmouth, United Kingdom
10:35am BST / 5:35am EST THE PRESIDENT and THE FIRST LADY depart Southsea Castle Landing Zone en route to Southsea Common, Portsmouth, United Kingdom
10:40am BST / 5:40am EST THE PRESIDENT and THE FIRST LADY arrive at Southsea Common, Portsmouth, United Kingdom
10:45am BST / 5:45am EST THE PRESIDENT participates in a photo opportunity with leaders attending an event to commemorate the 75th Anniversary of D-Day, Portsmouth, United Kingdom
11:15am BST / 6:15am EST THE PRESIDENT and THE FIRST LADY participate in an event to commemorate the 75th Anniversary of D-Day, Portsmouth, United Kingdom
12:45pm BST / 7:45am EST THE PRESIDENT and THE FIRST LADY participate in a meet and greet with Her Majesty the Queen and D-Day Veterans, Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1:00pm BST / 8:00am EST THE PRESIDENT and THE FIRST LADY bid farewell to Her Majesty the Queen, Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1:10pm BST / 8:10am EST THE PRESIDENT and THE FIRST LADY participate in a reception with His Royal Highness the Prince of Wales and other leaders attending the D-Day Commemoration, Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1:35pm BST / 8:35am EST THE PRESIDENT and THE FIRST LADY participate in a meet and greet with United States Service Members, Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2:05pm BST / 9:05am EST THE PRESIDENT participates in a Luncheon at the D-Day Commemoration, Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2:50pm BST / 9:50am EST THE PRESIDENT and THE FIRST LADY depart Southsea Commons en route to Southsea Castle Landing Zone, Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2:55pm BST / 9:55am EST THE PRESIDENT and THE FIRST LADY arrive at Southsea Castle Landing Zone, Portsmouth, United Kingdom
3:05pm BST / 10:05am EST THE PRESIDENT and THE FIRST LADY depart Portsmouth, United Kingdom, en route to Southampton Airport, Southampton, United Kingdom, Portsmouth, United Kingdom
3:25pm BST / 10:25am EST THE PRESIDENT and THE FIRST LADY arrive at Southampton Airport, Southampton, United Kingdom
3:35pm BST / 10:35am EST THE PRESIDENT and THE FIRST LADY depart Southampton Airport en route Shannon Airport, Shannon, Ireland, Southampton, United Kingdom
U.K State Visit Concludes ~
4:50pm IST / 11:50am EST THE PRESIDENT and THE FIRST LADY arrive at Shannon Airport, Shannon, Ireland
5:00pm IST / 12:00pm EST THE PRESIDENT and THE FIRST LADY depart Shannon Airport en route to Shannon Airport Terminal, Shannon, Ireland
5:05pm IST / 12:05pm EST THE PRESIDENT and THE FIRST LADY arrive at Shannon Airport Terminal, Shannon, Ireland
5:15pm IST / 12:15pm EST THE PRESIDENT participates in a bilateral meeting with Prime Minister Taoiseach Leo Varadkar of Ireland, Shannon, Ireland
5:20pm IST / 12:20pm EST THE PRESIDENT participates in an expanded bilateral meeting with Prime Minister Taoiseach Leo Varadkar of Ireland, Shannon, Ireland
6:00PM IST / 1:00pm EST THE PRESIDENT and THE FIRST LADY depart Shannon Airport Terminal en route to Shannon Airport, Shannon, Ireland
6:05pm IST / 1:05PM EST THE PRESIDENT and THE FIRST LADY arrive at Shannon Airport, Shannon, Ireland
6:15pm IST / 1:15pm EST THE PRESIDENT and THE FIRST LADY depart Shannon, Airport, en route to Trump International Doonbeg Landing Zone, Doonbeg, Ireland, Shannon, Ireland
6:35pm IST / 1:35pm EST THE PRESIDENT and THE FIRST LADY arrive at Trump International Doonbeg Landing Zone, Doonbeg, Ireland
The Queen is also at the D-Day Aniversary, along with other world leaders.
https://twitter.com/RoyalFamily/status/1136218825085607936
Here is the White House video compilation of Day 2, released from the President’s Twitter Feed.
https://twitter.com/realDonaldTrump/status/1136146104838434821
 
While we were waiting for the President to speak. I decided to check out the Trump Golf Facility at Doonbeg. It looks like what we might imagine heaven to look like.
green

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Subscribe
Notify of
guest
55 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

ozzytrumpster

He’s never gonna lose that title now

Plain Jane

I love lime green. She really is a beautiful elderly ladie.

MA_kswiss

i am watching the anniversary programming on it now….it is quite a production (in a good way)

MA_kswiss

it was jarring to see PDJT next two FDR’s big picture……such a juxtaposition on so many levels……

MA_kswiss

this ceremony is quite moving……

MA_kswiss

the planes and the veterans had me tearing up…….

MA_kswiss

seeing that jet gives me so much relief…….getting him home safely is the goal….

wheatietoo

A person can stand up in one of the engine nacelles:comment image

bflyjesusgrl

I clicked on one of this ads, there were 35 slides on AF1. It is actually 3 stories, didn’t know that. 80 some odd phone lines, 270+ miles of cables throughout. 2 Kitchens. Nuclear blast proof, has defensive measures. Press is sealed off, their own companies pay for their travel, that’s good.

ozzytrumpster

I’m not sure he’s any safer at home. Remember overseas they have limited windows of opportunity whilst at home he’s got a much more regular schedule. Also smuggling sams into the us is a hellofalot easier. London was locked down for Potus visit but you can’t lock down Washington on a daily basis.

bakocarl

Melania’s hat . . . somewhat reminiscent of the WWII British Brodie helmet?comment image

wheatietoo

Had the same thought too!
Thanks, Carl.

ozzytrumpster

The top photo, which has been around for a while, always amazed me. The paratroopers had such high mortality rates. How did they find a whole plane load that survived the whole war?

SteveInCO

Perhaps that particular bunch happened to jump into a lightly defended area…lucky.

ozzytrumpster

It wasn’t the defences that we’re their biggest problems. They were jumping at night with primitive navigation into very dangerous terrain. Forrest’s, swamps etc.MANY drowned or were injured. No night vision goggles or gps. Didn’t know exactly where they were on landing. No coms so hard to group up. Perfect storm for friendly fire accidents. Plus the French resistance were out in force as well. ( no insignia)

SteveInCO

Good point; I’ll amend my suggestion to “perhaps they landed on farmland.”
But we can’t know unless someone asks them, assuming old age hasn’t done what D-Day didn’t, since the picture was taken.

trumpismine

My father jumped Normandy as a pathfinder 2nd battalion stick 10 in the early hours of June 6th to set up radar for the incoming planes carrying the 2nd battalion 505th regiment of the 82nd Airborne Division to seize Sainte Mere- Eglise. comment image
click on the link of a photo shot June 5th as they were preparing to leave England for D-day.
He is the #4 trooper in the pic.
Maybe the fact that his father back in Kentucky who was a minister praying for his first born to make it home alive?
The ol’ man made it after making all combat jumps with the division and being trucked into the Battle of the Bulge.
I honestly believe it was a miracle he made it home.

trumpismine

This day is always special for me b/c all the soldiers in the UK were being told late June 5th Operation Overlord is a Go!
Many of our young men died and bled for freedom and the sense of duty they had the next day.

trumpismine

LST = Landing Ship Tank.
Those thing were big and delivered a lot more than tanks.
Your father-in-law was one of the greatest generation too.
And your hubby was born on D-Day?
Hard to miss his birthday!

duchess01

comment image

duchess01
duchess01

This one is for jesusgrl! 🙂comment image

SteveInCO

Is that supposed to look like a Tommy helmet?

duchess01

Are you referring to Melania’s Hat?
If you are – No – that is a hat similar to the one Princess Diana wore in her day – very English – I would say

SteveInCO

Rounded, not a “pillbox” on top like yesterday. Interesting.

duchess01

No – the brim is very wide – and the crown is quite small – ‘pillbox’ does not have a wide brim – think Jackie Kennedy – for ‘pillbox’

SteveInCO

Was trying to describe a flat cylinder; I guess I could have called it a tuna can instead.
The hat in this picture looks more like a single cymbal.

duchess01

LOL – think cereal bowl turned upside down on a circular serving plate turned upside down – how’s that?

duchess01

Thanks for the update – you must be exhausted, daugh! All of this is so exciting – pictures are just precious!

thinkthinkthink

The video link in your post has been taken down for copyright infringement. Seems the British are stingy on presenting the entire interview. Maybe a transcript will surfaces.
Meanwhile Piers Morgan defends our Lion nicely in the post interview interview.

duchess01

This interview was quite enjoyable, think – Thanks for posting!

thinkthinkthink

There is another section or two. They broke it up.

michaelh

Just wanted to say, I STOLE this for Flep’s thread 😉

thinkthinkthink

Okay, youtube served it up after all…

michaelh

Oh BTW, stole for Flep’s thread! 😛

Plain Jane

DNW. thank you so much for your series of threads on PT’s visit. I haven’t been able tokeep up with it at all, and am very happy to be able to come back to wqth and catch up.

Plain Jane

🙂

[…] Q Tree has the Trumps’ schedule after Portsmouth for the rest of June 5 (emphasis in the […]